29th August 2007

Following up…..



This morning I met with the training manager at the Sure Start Childrens centre. She was lovely (I was a little apprehensive as she had been a bit defensive on the phone) She was familiar with NLP and so could see the potential benefits. I let her do lots of talking first, telling me about the extensive work that the centre does – very impressive too, I have to add. At the end of her explanation she asked how I saw myself fitting in, was it with parents, or children or staff. Definitely staff I told her, that was where I could see the most benefit. I explained together how rapport skills and anchoring, perhaps a little conflict management would really benefit them in working with the parents in particular. This was obviously the right answer! as she relaxed and agreed and became more open with me. She is very interested and told me that the timing was great. The team hadn’t had any communication skills training for about 3 years and there were many new staff. She told me that they do have a budget for training to use and that this would be very valuable. She would put it to her superior and suggest that he meets me to discuss options. She also gave the names of 2 other people who might be very interested, one in the Swindon Sure Start Partnership and one in Swindon Borough Council.

Didn’t get chance to do anything with that today but will be following those leads up next week.

Called Andrea re: the training opportunity with Tesco and got further details. This is an interesting project and I’m giving it some serious thought. Thank you Andrea – you are so lovely for thinking of me and I really appreciate it. It was so Good to speak with you today and hear about all of the ways you are using what we learned in your training role. You ROCK!

Had further correspondence today with the Nursing Home – the inspectorate have said no CRB check needed. I just have to put together a protocol for them about what I’ll be doing there. Cool

I have two presentations to give at 2 different groups tomorrow so have been polishing them up and practising them through out the day. I’m very excited about both.!

Explore posts in the same categories: achievement, Blogroll, coaching, dreams, goal setting, inspiration, leadership, self-development, training, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

